Belichick takes issue with penalty called

Costly penalty in loss to Jets Aaron Wilson

Print This October 21, 2013, 10:00 AM EST

NFP's Introduction to Scouting Class is now registering for our next session! Early bird pricing in effect until February 15th! Save $100 and REGISTER NOW!

New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick took issue with a key penalty called during an overtime loss to the New York Jets.

The Patriots were flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct when defensive tackle Chris Jones was flagged for pushing a teammate to try to block a field goal during a missed 56-yarder by Nick Folk in overtime of a 30-27 loss.

Jones was flagged for pushing teammate Will Svitek from behind to violate a rule that says players can't push teammates on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation.

"You can't push on the second level," Belichick told reporters. "I didn't think we did that."

It was a costly flag as it led to Folk's game-winning 42-yarder.

"The call was that No. 94 [Jones] on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation," referee Jerome Boger told a pool reporter. "That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents' formation."

Follow me on Twitter: @RavensInsider

Aaron Wilson covers the Ravens for The Baltimore Sun.

NFP Inside Content. All Season.