Bills' six team captains don't include EJ Manuel

Mario Williams among team captains Aaron Wilson

Print This September 01, 2014, 09:05 AM EST

NFP's Introduction to Scouting Class is now registering for our next session! Early bird pricing in effect until February 15th! Save $100 and REGISTER NOW!

The Buffalo Bills named six team captains, none of whom are quarterback EJ Manuel.

The captains, voted on by teammates, are cornerback Corey Graham, running back Fred Jackson, linebacker Brandon Spikes, defensive tackle Kyle Williams, defensive end Mario Williams and center Eric Wood.

Kyle Williams and Jackson are fourth-time captains for Buffalo, while Wood is a second-time captain. Mario Williams, Spikes and Graham are all first-time captains for the Bills.

Each player will have a letter ‘C’ affixed to their uniform to signify this honor. Their responsibilities will include assisting in the on-field communication with the game officials.

In May 2007, the NFL introduced the team captain initiative with the purpose of supporting and recognizing the importance of team leadership. The initiative has been strongly endorsed by the NFL head coaches and by the six-member NFL Player Advisory Council that was established by Commissioner Roger Goodell in conjunction with the NFL Players Association.

Follow me on Twitter: @RavensInsider

Aaron Wilson covers the Ravens for The Baltimore Sun

NFP Inside Content. All Season.