Foxworth elected new NFLPA president

Defensive back succeeds Kevin Mawae in the role. Terry McCormick

Print This March 25, 2012, 12:49 PM EST

NFP's Introduction to Scouting Class is now registering for our next session! Early bird pricing in effect until February 15th! Save $100 and REGISTER NOW!

Cornerback Dominique Foxworth has been elected as the new president of the NFL Players Association, says Liz Mullen of Sports Business Journal.

The vote was unanimous, according to Mullen.

Foxworth succeeds Kevin Mawae, whose term expires, in part because he retired in 2010 while he was still NFLPA president.

Foxworth is currently a free agent after having been released by the Baltimore Ravens after an injury-plagued 2011 season.

Follow me on Twitter @TitanInsider247 and @terrymc13

Terry McCormick covers the Titans for

NFP Inside Content. All Season.