Hall of Fame finalists announced

Four first-time candidates among the list of 17 Canton hopefuls. Terry McCormick

Print This January 11, 2013, 09:49 AM EST

NFP's Introduction to Scouting Class is now registering for our next session! Early bird pricing in effect until February 15th! Save $100 and REGISTER NOW!

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced a list of 15 finalists plus two veterans committee candidates on Friday.

The list includes four first-time eligible players:  Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, and Michael Strahan.

Joining the first-year eligible, are eight other modern-era players, a coach and two contributors. That list includes Other finalists include running back Jerome Bettis, receiver/return man Tim Brown, receiver Cris Carter, former 49ers owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr., linebacker/end Kevin Greene, linebacker/end Charles Haley, former Browns and Ravens owner Art Modell, long-time coach Bill Parcells, receiver Andre Reed, guard Will Shields and defensive back Aeneas Williams.

The two senior nominees announced in August 2012 (former Kansas City Chiefs and Houston Oilers defensive tackle Curley Culp and former Green Bay Packers and Washington Redskins linebacker Dave Robinson) are voted upon separately.

Voting will take place on Feb. 2 to determine the Class of 2013 inductees.

Follow me on Twitter @TerryMc13

Terry McCormick covers the Titans for


The 15 modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall’s Selection Committee from a list of 127 nominees that earlier was reduced to a list of 27 semifinalists, during the multi-step, year-long selection process. Culp and Robinson were selected as senior candidates by the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee. The Seniors Committee reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers took place more than 25 years ago.


To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent.

NFP Inside Content. All Season.