Alvarez: Wisconsin, Iowa to be in separate divisions

While the Big Ten doesn’t plan on unveiling its new division format for 2011 until sometime in September, Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez has no qualms about releasing at least one nugget of information.

Alvarez told the Wisconsin State Journal on Wednesday that the Badgers and Iowa will be in different divisions when the changes are announced.

The former Wisconsin head coach also said the conference will adopt a nine-game conference schedule beginning in 2015.

On the heels of the Big Ten’s meetings in Chicago earlier this week, Alvarez declined to give any more specifics on ramifications of Nebraska’s addition as the 12th league member starting in 2011.

“We’ve had our meetings,” he said of his fellow ADs and Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany. “We have a pretty good idea of what’s going down.”

Much speculation has also been made in recent weeks of the potential shifting of the longstanding rivalry between Michigan and Ohio State. In addition to where they would be placed in the new conference realignment — same division or not — there’s concerns about when the annual regular-season meeting would take place. With just one exception, it has been on the final weekend every year since 1935.

Follow me on Twitter at Miller_Dave or send your college football questions to

Click here to purchase the Total Access Pass / Fantasy Draft Guide from the NFP.

Upcoming Games

Aug 5th, 8:00 PM

Dallas +2.5 -110

Pittsburgh -2.5 -110


Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Washington -2.5 -110

New England +2.5 -110


Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Pittsburgh +1 -110

Philadelphia -1 -110