Auburn's 2011 schedule is released

Auburn will open defense of its national championship on September 3 against Utah State at Jordan-Hare Stadium.

The team's official schedule, which was released on Tuesday, features home games against Mississippi State, Florida, Ole Miss and Alabama — an Iron Bowl matchup that almost certainly won’t be able to top the epic 2010 clash.

While Gene Chizik’s squad played many of its toughest games at home during its title season of 2010, that will not be the case next fall. Auburn travels to Clemson, South Carolina, Arkansas, LSU and Georgia. And it will have to do so without the services of Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Cam Newton and defensive tackle Nick Fairley, who potentially could be the top pick in April's NFL Draft.

One other note: For the first time since 1963, Auburn will not play its two biggest rivals in back-to-back games. The Tigers have split up Georgia and Alabama with a homecoming game against Samford.

2011 Auburn schedule:

Sept. 3 Utah State
Sept. 10 Mississippi State
Sept. 17 at Clemson
Sept. 24 Florida Atlantic
Oct. 1 at South Carolina
Oct. 8 at Arkansas
Oct. 15 Florida
Oct. 22 at LSU
Oct. 29 Ole Miss
Nov. 12 at Georgia
Nov. 19 Samford
Nov. 26 Alabama

Email or follow me on Twitter at Miller_Dave

Want to work in the NFL? Click here to sign up for the NFP's "Chalk Talk at the Combine" Seminar February 25 in Indianapolis.

Upcoming Games

Aug 5th, 8:00 PM

Dallas +1 -110

Pittsburgh -1 -110


Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Washington -2 -110

New England +2 -110


Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Pittsburgh +1 -110

Philadelphia -1 -110