Mariota wins the 2014 Heisman Trophy

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota claimed the 2014 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night after a remarkable season that helped position his team for a chance to play for the national championship.

The dual-threat signal-caller became the Ducks' first Heisman winner in program history.

"I'm humbled to be standing here today," Mariota said during an acceptance speech that saw him become emotional.

Mariota, who claimed the 80th edition of the award, received twice as many points as second-place finisher Melvin Gordon of Wisconsin. Alabama receiver Amari Cooper was third in the race.

The leader of the Ducks' high-octane, up-tempo offense received the second-highest percentage of possible points in Heisman history, behind only Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith in 2006.

Below is video of Mariota's speech.

Oregon's only Heisman finalists before Mariota were quarterback Joey Harrington in 2001 and running back LaMichael James in 2010.

In the inaugural College Football Playoff, Mariota and the Ducks will face 2013 Heisman winner Jameis Winston and Florida State in the Rose Bowl for the right to face the winner of the Sugar Bowl between Alabama and Ohio State. By the way, Winston finished sixth in this year's voting.

Dave Miller, the college football editor for the National Football Post, is on Twitter @Miller_Dave.

Upcoming Games

Jan 23rd, 3:00 PM

LA Rams +3 +100

Tampa Bay -3 +100


Jan 23rd, 6:30 PM

Buffalo +2 -110

Kansas City -2 -110