Winston claims the Heisman Trophy

Subscribe to the "Against the Grain with Dave Miller" podcast in iTunes

As expected, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was awarded the 2013 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York City.

Jameis WinstonUS PRESSWIREJameis Winston threw for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns while leading top-ranked FSU into the BCS title game.

The redshirt freshman signal-caller finished first in all six voting regions and racked up the fifth-largest margin of victory in the modern era. Alabama's AJ McCarron, NIU's Jordan Lynch, Boston College's Andre Williams, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Auburn's Tre Mason, all of whom were at the ceremony as finalists, rounded out the Top 6. Meanwhile, Baylor's Bryce Petty, Fresno State's Derek Carr, Ohio State's Braxton Miller and Arizona's Ka'Deem Carey finished Nos. 7-10.

In the first 77 seasons of the Heisman Trophy, the award was never won by a freshman. The last two have now been won by redshirt freshmen, as A&M's Manziel claimed the award last year.

Winston, who is the first ACC player in 13 years to earn college football’s highest individual honor, is the award's youngest winner at 19 years and 342 days old.

The Alabama native threw for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns while leading top-ranked FSU into the BCS national championship game against Auburn. In 13 career games, he has thrown for 300 yards seven times and accounted for at least four touchdowns six times.

Dave Miller, the college football editor and writer for the National Football Post, is on Twitter @Miller_Dave.

Upcoming Games

Aug 4th, 8:00 PM

Jacksonville +1.5 -110

Las Vegas -1.5 -110


Aug 11th, 7:00 PM

NY Giants

New England


Aug 11th, 7:30 PM