Report: Manning wins fourth MVP Award

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning has won the 2009 Associated Press NFL MVP Award, according to Mike Chappell of the Indianapolis Star.

With the win, Manning becomes the first player in NFL history to have won the MVP Award four times. Only one other player-Vikings quarterback Brett Favre-has won the award three times.

Manning also won the award in 2003, 2004 and 2008.

The Indianapolis signal-caller led the Colts to a 14-2 record this season and a first-round bye in the AFC Playoffs.

On the season, Manning completed a career-high 68.8% of his passes for 4,500 yards (second in NFL) with 33 touchdowns and 16 interceptions. His 4,500 passing yards is the second highest total of Manning’s career, falling just short of the 4,557 yards he threw for in 2004.

“It’s been remarkable,” Colts head coach Jim Caldwell told Chappell earlier this week. “He keeps getting better. He just has an innate sort of will to excel. He never gets bored with it. That, I think, is highly unusual.”

Hit me up on Twitter: @JoeFortenbaugh

Upcoming Games

Aug 4th, 8:00 PM

Jacksonville +1.5 -110

Las Vegas -1.5 -110


Aug 11th, 7:00 PM

NY Giants

New England


Aug 11th, 7:30 PM