DeMaurice Smith re-elected for third term as NFLPA executive director

The NFL Players Association re-elected DeMaurice Smith as executive director Sunday night in Maui for the third time. Smith, 51, beat out eight challengers as the union board of representatives kept him in place on the first ballot for a three-year term. "“I am proud to represent the best athletes in the world,”" Smith said. "“There will always be those who will sacrifice their dignity in a race to the bottom so that they can climb over others to get to the top. I will not join them, and no human should.” “As a union, it is your duty to decide who should and will lead." "The Board of Player Representatives made a decision today after two comprehensive days of deliberation and careful consideration of all candidates,”" NFLPA president Eric Winston said. “"We look forward to continue working with DeMaurice Smith to make our union stronger.”" Smith beat out James Acho, Jason Belser, Sean Gilbert, Robert Griffith, Arthur McAfee, Rob London, Andrew Smith, and John Stufflebeem. The finalists all made presentations to the player representatives. Smith was first elected to the position in 2009 to succeed the late Gene Upshaw. He was unanimously re-elected to the post in 2012. The election was overseen by KMH LLP, an independent accounting fim based in Hawaii. Follow me on Twitter: @RavensInsider Aaron Wilson covers the Ravens for The Baltimore Sun  
Aaron Wilson
Aaron Wilson covers the NFL for National Football Post, his second stint at the Post. He has previously written for Pro Football Talk and FOX Sports-Scout. Entering his 13th year covering the Baltimore Ravens, he's a beat writer for The Baltimore Sun. Wilson has also covered the Jacksonville Jaguars and Tennessee Titans.

Upcoming Games

Jan 22nd, 4:30 PM

Cincinnati +3 -109

Tennessee -3 -109


Jan 22nd, 8:15 PM

San Francisco +5 -110

Green Bay -5 -110


Jan 23rd, 3:00 PM

LA Rams +3 +100

Tampa Bay -3 +100


Jan 23rd, 6:30 PM

Buffalo +2 -110

Kansas City -2 -110