Eight Texans head up AFC Pro Bowl roster

The Houston Texans, still in line for the No. 1 seed in the AFC playoffs, placed a team-high eight players on the AFC Pro Bowl squad for 2013.

The New England Patriots had the next highest amount with seven selections, while the Baltimore Ravens had six players picked for the AFC roster. Perhaps even more shocking is that five members of the lowly Kansas City Chiefs, who are tied for the worst record in the league, were selected to the Pro Bowl.

Denver quarterback Peyton Manning, coming back after missing all of 2011, was selected as the starting quarterback. Manning is joined by New England's Tom Brady and Houston's Matt Schaub.

The AFC running back starter is Arian Foster of the Texans, backed up by Kansas City's Jamaal Charles and Baltimore's Ray Rice. Vonta Leach of Baltimore will be the fullback.

The starting receivers are Cincinnati's A.J. Green and Houston's Andre Johnson, backed up by Reggie Wayne of Indianapolis and Wes Welker of the Patriots.

Rob Gronkowski of the Patriots will start at tight end, while Pittsburgh's Heath Miller, out with a torn ACL, was chosen as the backup.

The offensive line consists of guards Logan Mankins of New England and Marshal Yanda of Baltimore with Houston's Wade Smith as the backup.

Maurkice Pouncey of the Pittsburgh Steelers is the starting center and will be backed up by the Texans' Chris Myers.

At tackle will be Cleveland's Joe Thomas and Houston's Duane Brown with Ryan Clady of Denver picked as a backup.

Defensively, the tackles include Cincinnati's Geno Atkins and New England's Vince Wilford, backed up by Haloti Ngata of the Ravens.

At end, Texans' star J.J. Watt and Cameron Wake of the Miami Dolphins will start, while Elvis Dumervil of the Denver Broncos will back up.

The Broncos' Von Miller will start at outside linebacker, along with Kansas City's Tamba Hali. Robert Mathis of the Colts will back up.

Inside linebackers the AFC are Jerod Mayo of the Patriots and Derrick Johnson of the Chiefs.

Champ Bailey of the Broncos and Johnathan Joseph of the Texans are the starting cornerbacks, with Antonio Cromartie of the New York Jets backing up.

Ed Reed is the the free safety, while Kansas City's Eric Berry is the strong safety. Laron Landry of the Jets will be the backup.

AFC special teamers include return man Jacoby Jones of Baltimore, kicker Phil Dawson of the Browns, punter Dustin Colquitt of the Chiefs and Patriots receiver Matthew Slater as the special teams player.

Follow me on Twitter @TerryMc13

Terry McCormick covers the Titans for TitanInsider.com

Upcoming Games

Aug 3rd, 8:00 PM

NY Jets



Aug 10th, 7:00 PM


New England


Aug 10th, 10:00 PM