League says officials made bad spot on McNabb run

From ESPNDallas.com:

IRVING -- NFL vice president of officiating Mike Pereira said Wednesday night on NFL Network that there was a slight mistake in the Philadelphia Eagles-Dallas Cowboys game on Sunday night.

Eagles quarterback Donovan McNabb was ruled short after a quarterback dive on a fourth-and-1 with 11:01 to play in the fourth quarter. Eagles coach Andy Reid challenged the ruling and after a review, the referees said the ruling on the field was correct. It cost the Eagles their final timeout of the game, something that would come back to haunt them later.

Pereira said of the spot by referee Walt Coleman: "I think I would have moved it."

Replays showed that McNabb landed near the edge of the Eagles logo but the ball was spotted behind that. Pereira said the ball should have been moved a few inches, but he wasn't sure if it would have given the Eagles a first down.

On Wednesday, Cowboys coach Wade Phillips said the referees got the spot right from his vantage point on the field.

CLICK HERE TO CONTINUE READING

Upcoming Games

Aug 5th, 8:00 PM

Dallas +1.5 -110

Pittsburgh -1.5 -110

@

Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Washington -2 -110

New England +2 -110

@

Aug 12th, 7:30 PM

Pittsburgh +1 -110

Philadelphia -1 -110

@