NFL admits another Triplette error

The rough season for referee Jeff Triplette continued when the NFL’s head of officials said Triplette made a major mistake for the second week in a row. NFL Vice President of Officiating Dean Blandino told NFL Network on Tuesday night that Triplette incorrectly awarded a touchdown to Cincinnati running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis in the first half of Cincinnati’s victory over Indianapolis on Sunday.

“No, it wasn't the correct call," Blandino said. "There was not enough evidence to overturn the ruling on the field.”

Blandino said there was not “indisputable visual evidence” to overrule the original call that Green-Ellis did not score on the play.

“That's the standard. When we look at these angles, it's close,” Blandino said. “Don't think it's definitive either way. And when it's not definitive either way, that means the call on the field should stand. So we made a mistake here. This should not have been overturned.”

In the previous game Triplette worked between Washington and the New York Giants, Triplette and his crew incorrectly moved the first-down stakes to indicate that Washington had made a first down on its final drive of an eventual 24-17 loss. That mistake potentially changed the sequence of plays the Redskins would have run, although they did eventually fumble on their final play.

Triplette has a series of mistakes on his resume, such as whistling a play dead in which Indianapolis quarterback Peyton Manning ran a fake spike play toward the end of a game.

Follow me on Twitter @JasonPhilCole

Upcoming Games