Gonzalez, Reed, Bailey among 25 Hall of Fame semifinalists

First-year eligible Tony Gonzalez, Ed Reed and Champ Bailey are among 25 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In all, 13 defensive players, nine on offense and three coaches — Jimmy Johnson, Tom Flores and Don Coryell — made the cut.

Making it to the semifinals for the first time, although previously eligible, are Flores and linebacker Zach Thomas.

Already finalists for the hall are contributors Gil Brandt and Pat Bowlen, and senior committee nominee Johnny Robinson.

The 25 modern-day finalists from an original group of 103 will be reduced to 15 on Jan. 3. The selection meeting will be Feb. 2, the day before the Super Bowl, in Atlanta.

Inductions will be on Aug. 3 at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

The semifinalists:

Steve Atwater, safety

Champ Bailey, cornerback

Ronde Barber, cornerback/safety

Tony Boselli, tackle

Isaac Bruce, wide receiver

LeRoy Butler, safety

Don Coryell, coach

Alan Faneca, guard

Tom Flores, coach

Tony Gonzalez, tight end

Torry Holt, wide receiver

Steve Hutchinson, guard

Edgerrin James, running back

Jimmy Johnson, coach

Ty Law, cornerback

John Lynch, safety

Clay Matthews, linebacker

Kevin Mawae, center/guard

Karl Mecklenburg, linebacker

Sam Mills, linebacker

Ed Reed, safety

Richard Seymour, defensive lineman

Zach Thomas, linebacker

Hines Ward, wide receiver

Darren Woodson, safety


More AP NFL: https://apnews.com/NFL and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL

Upcoming Games

Aug 5th, 8:00 PM




Aug 12th, 7:30 PM


New England


Aug 12th, 7:30 PM