Reggie Bush speaks during the Fox Sports Big Noon Kickoff football pregame show before Iowa hosts Michigan, Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, in Iowa City, Iowa.

221001 Big Noon 022 Jpg

Reggie Bush among 18 players named to College Football HOF

Reggie Bush and Tim Tebow were among a class of 18 players selected for the College Football Hall of Fame.

The class was announced Monday ahead of the College Football Playoff national title game.

Bush is best known for winning the Heisman Trophy in 2005 and having it vacated later in life because his family received illicit benefits during his time as an electrifying running back for Southern California.

He led USC to two national titles in 2003 and 2004 and a third straight championship game appearance in 2005. He ran for 3,169 yards (7.3 per carry) and scored 42 total touchdowns in his collegiate career.

Tebow won the Heisman in 2007 during a record-setting career at Florida.

The rest of the class featured Eric Berry (Tennessee), Michael Bishop (Kansas State), Dwight Freeney (Syracuse), Robert Gallery (Iowa), LaMichael James (Oregon), Derrick Johnson (Texas), Bill Kollar (Montana State), Luke Kuechly (Boston College), Jeremy Maclin (Missouri), Terance Mathis (New Mexico), Bryant McKinnie (Miami), Corey Moore (Virginia Tech), Michael Stonebreaker (Notre Dame), Troy Vincent (Wisconsin), Brian Westbrook (Villanova) and DeAngelo Williams (Memphis).

Former Georgia and Miami coach Mark Richt will be inducted, along with Monte Cater (Shepherd), Paul Johnson (Georgia Southern, Navy, Georgia Tech) and Roy Kramer (Central Michigan).

The induction ceremony will be held Dec. 5.

–Field Level Media

Jun 10, 2021; Ashburn, VA, USA; Washington Football Team running back Lamar Miller (35) carries the ball between Washington Football Team running back Payton Barber (25) and Washington Football Team running back Antonio Gibson (24) during drills as part of minicamp at Inova Sports Performance Center. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

NFL cuts: Tim Tebow, Lamar Miller let go

Tim Tebow’s comeback bid with the Jacksonville Jaguars ended when NFL teams trimmed their rosters from 90 to 85 on Tuesday.

Tebow was released along with four others in Jacksonville — wide receivers Josh Imatorbhebhe and Tim Jones, defensive tackle Daniel Ross and cornerback DJ Daniel — after attempting to return from a brief minor-league baseball career with the New York Mets.

First-year Jaguars coach Urban Meyer was allowing Tebow, a Heisman and national title winner at Florida under Meyer’s watch, to attempt a move to tight end.

–Running back Lamar Miller was released by the Washington Football Team.

Miller has played in only one regular-season game since 2018 due to injuries and was one of six running backs in training camp with Washington.

Another longtime NFL back, Alfred Morris, was released by the New York Giants.

–Field Level Media

Tim Tebow of Her Song makes remarks about a new series of partnerships to fight human trafficking announced by Gov. Bill Lee during a press conference at the State Capitol Thursday, May 13, 2021 in Nashville, Tenn.

Nas Human Trafficking 006

Jaguars officially sign Tim Tebow

Tim Tebow signed with the Jacksonville Jaguars and took the field wearing No. 85 on Thursday.

Tebow is working out as a tight end after playing quarterback at Florida and in the NFL.

“I want to thank the Jaguars for the opportunity to compete and earn the chance to be part of this team,” Tebow said. “I know it will be a challenge, but it is a challenge I embrace. I am dedicated to taking the direction of our coaching staff and learning from my teammates. I appreciate everyone’s support as I embark on this new journey.”

The deal, reported several days ago following a second private workout for Jaguars coaches and staff, ends a six-year NFL hiatus. It is not guaranteed and Tebow would only be paid a salary if he’s on the team’s final roster in September.

Tebow most recently was in the minor-league system of the New York Mets and worked as a college football analyst for ESPN.

The 2007 Heisman Trophy winner and two-time national champion with the Gators under head coach Urban Meyer, Tebow, 33, has never played tight end.

–Field Level Media