Bills place Kolb, Smith on IR; release 18 players

Matt Leinart and Antoine Caldwell were among the 18 players released by Buffalo on Friday. Aaron Wilson

Print This August 30, 2013, 07:11 PM EST

NFP's Introduction to Scouting Class is now registering for our next session! Early bird pricing in effect until February 15th! Save $100 and REGISTER NOW!

The Buffalo Bills placed quarterback Kevin Kolb (concussion), receiver Brad Smith (chest) and fullback Drew Smith (undisclosed) on injured reserve Friday.

As previously reported, Kolb's head injury is career threatening.

The Bills also released 18 players to make room for the mandatory 53-man roster each team has to cut down to by Saturday at 6 p.m. Those cuts were DE Kourtnei Brown, RB Zach Brown, DB Crezdon Butler, G Antoine Caldwell, G Zack Chibane, DB Jordan Dangerfield, TE Dorin Dickerson, DB Kip Edwards, RB Kendall Gaskins, DT Jarron Gilbert, DB T.J. Heath, WR Brandon Kaufman, QB Matt Leinart, LB Keith Pough, TE Nick Provo, T Zebrie Sanders, LB Brian Smith and C David Snow.

The Bills have 55 players left on the roster and need to make two more moves by Saturday at 6 p.m., the NFL's roster deadline.

Follow me on Twitter: @RavensInsider

Aaron Wilson covers the Ravens for The Baltimore Sun.

NFP Inside Content. All Season.